Judith A. Kirby, MD, FACS

Ophthalmologist & Eye Surgeon
Diplomate of the American Board of Ophthalmology, 1996.
Recertification, 2006 and 2016 Specializing in Comprehensive Ophthalmology and Vitreo-Retinal Disease

Board-certified ophthalmologist Dr. Judith Kirby, founder of the Kirby Eye Center, has been caring for and restoring ophthalmologic health to patients in Dallas and its surrounding areas for over two decades. Dr. Kirby believes that healthy eyes are essential, not just for good vision, but as a critical component of overall physical well-being. Dr. Kirby is committed to the complete health of her patients, often collaborating with their other physicians in order to achieve the correct diagnosis and treatment plan.

Dr. Kirby began practicing ophthalmology in 1997 in Plano, TX. In 2007, she opened the Kirby Eye Center at Presbyterian Hospital of Dallas, and has continued to serve the ophthalmologic needs of the Dallas area at that location until moving to the Carrell Clinic in 2014.
Dr. Kirby attended Drexel University Medical School in Philadelphia.. Here, she was selected to the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Society and the Sigma Xi National Honor Society for Achievement in Research. Dr. Kirby also received the American Medical Woman’s Association Memorial Achievement Citation and received awards for physiology and biophysics, as well as awards for distinguished academic performance in medicine and surgery. During medical school, she served as a research fellow at the National Eye Institute of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) in Bethesda, Maryland.

Dr. Kirby completed residency at Baylor College of Medicine in Houston, TX where she was named Chief Ophthalmology resident. After residency, she was awarded a postdoctoral research fellowship at Baylor and received the NIH National Research Service Award. Dr. Kirby then came to Dallas for her vitreo-retinal fellowship at UT Southwestern Medical School in Dallas and has continued practicing in Dallas since.


G. Stephon Payseur, MD


Dr. Payseur is a board certified ophthalmologist who has proudly served the Dallas community for decades. He completed his medical training at Howard University in 1967 and then an internship at Duke University the following year. After returning to Howard to complete his ophthalmology residency in 1971, he enjoyed one-year fellowships at Johns Hopkins University and the National Institute of Health. With this extensive training, Dr. Payseur served as the Chief of Ophthalmology at Howard University for several years before embarking on his private practice career. After caring for Dallas Patients as a solo practitioner for nearly 30 years, he decided to join the team at the Kirby Eye Center as a comprehensive ophthalmologist.


Maheen Haque, MD

Maheen Haque, MD, is a board certified ophthalmologist. She is a specialist in cornea and external disease and specializes in the management of dry eye conditions, corneal infections, pterygia and keratoconus. She has clinical expertise in corneal transplants and the latest techniques of cataract surgery and intraocular lens implantation. She also practices comprehensive ophthalmology and has a special interest in refractive surgery. She is certified to perform Blade-Free Cataract surgery and Blade-Free LASIK surgery.

Dr. Haque completed her undergraduate education at the University of Michigan, graduating with distinction. She then attended Wayne State University School of Medicine in Detroit, Michigan. After a one-year internship at Crittenton Hospital, Dr. Haque went on to complete her ophthalmology training at Kresge Eye Institute in Detroit, Michigan. She subsequently completed a fellowship in Cornea and Refractive Surgery at the Boston Eye Group in Brookline, Massachusetts, under the direction of Dr. Samir Melki. Prior to joining Kirby Eye Center, Dr. Haque practiced in Chicago, Illinois as a cataract, refractive and cornea surgery specialist.
Dr. Haque is a member of the American Academy of Ophthalmology and is board certified through 2026. She has presented at the national meetings for the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology.